Lost Tramways of England London North West by Peter Waller published by Graffeg

Lost Tramways of England: London North West

Peter Waller
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Publication 23 September 2021 – Pre-order now.

Hardback | 64 pages | 150 x 200mm
Publication September 2021 | ISBN 9781914079818

Once the largest tramway network in the British Isles, London's tramways had belonged to a range of operators until the London Passenger Transport Board was created in July 1933, and this resulted in a great variety of tramcars being operated in the Metropolis. This is one of four volumes to cover the history of electric tramcar operation in the city, concentrating on routes to the north and north-west of the River Thames. This area was dominated by the Metropolitan Electric Tramways and was largely converted to trolleybus operation during the 1930s.

Locations featured include: 
  • Aldersgate 
  • Alexandra Palace
  • Barnet
  • Bloomsbury 
  • Canons Park
  • Cricklewood Broadway
  • Enfield
  • Hammersmith
  • Hampstead
  • Hanwell
  • Highgate Village
  • Holborn 
  • Holloway Road
  • Kentish Town
  • Kew Bridge
  • Kingsway Subway
  • Manor House
  • Moorgate 
  • Muswell Hill
  • North Finchley
  • Paddington
  • Parliament Hill Fields
  • Rosebery Avenue
  • Seven Sisters Road
  • Shepherds Bush
  • Southall
  • Sudbury
  • The Angel, Islington
  • The Wellington
  • Tottenham Court Road
  • Uxbridge 
  • Willesden
  • Winchmore Hill
  • Wood Green
Also in the series: London North West, London South East and London South West.

Peter Waller’s first book, British and Irish Tramway Systems since 1945, was published in 1992 and since then he has written extensively on transport subjects. He is now a full-time author and editor as well as being a director and secretary of the Online Transport Archive.

Books in the Lost Tramways series: