Choose Love longlisted for 2024 UKLA Book Awards

We are so thrilled to share that Choose Love my Nicola Davies and Petr Horáček has been longlisted for the 2024 UKLA Book Awards! 

The UKLA Book Awards, sponsored by LoveReading4Kids and Reading Cloud, celebrates children's books to encourage, inspire and educate. The books are chosen by teachers for teachers to share with pupils as part of the classroom experience. The awards aim to enhance all aspects of literacy learning and literary study, and we are so pleased to be on the longlist this year in such great company!

Choose Love

Nicola Davies & Petr Horáček

Choose Love is a cycle of poems that highlights the experience of those forced to become refugees. The core of the collection was written in 2018 as part of a project with the charity Refugee Trauma Initiative.

With the permission of both individual refugees and aid workers, RTI shared with Nicola a number of true and poignant stories which were then used as the basis for short-form poems. Over the following years Nicola has added to this core of poems to create a coherent collection on the theme of forced migration, its wider causes and consequences. 

Awarded 'Highly Commended' at CLiPPA 2023

Shortlisted for the IBA

About the author & illustrator:

Nicola Davies is the author of more than 80 books including picture books, non-fiction, fiction and poetry for children and adults. She has written widely on many subjects including environmental science, children’s rights, disability, grief and refugees. Recently two of her titles The Day War Came and The King of the Sky were endorsed by Amnesty UK

Petr Horáček is an award winning illustrator and author of books for children. His books include The Best Place in the World, Puffin Peter, Blue Penguin, The Greedy Goat, Silly Suzy Goose and A New House for Mouse. 

Petr illustrated Nicola Davies’s book A First Book of Animals published by Walker Books, which was shortlisted for The Kate Greenaway Medal and in 2017 was awarded Schools Library Association Information Book Award. 

Leave a comment